Christian Fiction, Fiction, Romance, Series & Collections

The Rocky Mountain Series, by Pamela Nissen

The Rocky Mountain series, by Pamela Nissen, is a set of sweet Christian romances I recently discovered. It is light reading and very clean. Set in Boulder, Colorado in the late 1800s, it tells the story of the five Drake brothers. Ben, Joseph, Aaron, and Zach are all honorable men. Max is the black sheep of the family, barely making an appearance, but with an important influence in the second book.

The plots are predictable in that each one brings a brother together with his future wife, but they are very enjoyable nonetheless. All of the characters are struggling with something, not unlike real life, and it is just a matter of finding the person who is the right fit to help with those challenges. (Again, not unlike real life.)The brothers are kind, noble, hard-working, and chivalrous. The women are smart, independent and nurturing. They deal with the expected trials of nineteenth century frontier living–weather, predators, thieves, etc.–learning about themselves and each other through it all.

Don’t be misled by the book covers. This series is better than you would expect.

Book 1: Rocky Mountain Match (Joseph) 9/10 Stars

Book 2: Rocky Mountain Redemption (Ben) 8/10 Stars

Book 3: Rocky Mountain Proposal (Aaron) 8.5/10 Stars

Book 4: Rocky Mountain Homecoming (Zach) 8.5/10 Stars

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s